Home

# Our campaigning activities

[proposals for discussion at the moment include holding a permanent
protest outside Granite House, targetted protests at intransigent LHO
offices, staging a GHA tenants and homeowners roadshow to raise
awareness of the issues across Glasgow communities.]

# Residents organisations news, literature, leaflets, mailouts and distribution

# Our next networking conference

# The report from the last networking conference and distribution to
all known existing residents organisations for comment

# Information gathering -
(a) general

(b) brainstorm: five minutes on what people's experiences are with
insurance/what we want from insurance

# Reportbacks and written area reports from local associations and
personal reportbacks from individuals

# Developing the network

# Spreading skills and know-how

# + whatever anyone else brings to the meeting

Come along and join us! Together we're stronger!

If you’re involved in a residents group of some sort then get involved with the netowrk. We’ve barely been going three months and already we’re growing, involving new people and residents organisations and developing collectively, and we’ve already won some concessions for some of our members from the Glasgow Housing Association’s facoring service.

Come along to the meeting on Saturday – it’s from 1pm in the Quaker’s Friands Meeting House on Elmbank Crescent Charing. Better still bring a written report on what’s been going on in your area and/or with your local residents organisation[s]!

See you there!

3 thoughts on “Draft agenda for the next working group meeting of the network – Sat 29th Uly

  1. I recently bought an ex-council house in a private sale. I have had nothing but problems with the factoring service since moved in including a recent jump in charges for stair cleaning and back court maintenance of around 40% – a figure that would shock and surprise even GHA(m) council not too distant relative the Council Tax Office.

    About the insurance – I recently had a claim through it and I have never been witness to such levels of incompetence in dealing with this claim. Having worked for an insurance company for a number of years that is definetly saying something.

    Every time I phone to make an enquiry I get passed from pillar to post and no one is able to answer my question. I have an on-going complaint with them which I addressed in writing – the letter was convenitenly lost. I sent this again by email and the manager that was supposed to be dealing with my compaint forwarded part of it to a woman (in the wrong department) who was off ill – meaning that it was mo dealt with until I made another twelve phonecalls trying to get someone to deal with my complaint. I am fairly convinced that this issue would not have arisen in the first place if this contract was administered privately by a solicitor.

    I also found something quite interesting on the internet – apparently GHA consider their income from factoring (ie their income from GHA(m)) in preparing their final accounts. It just makes you wonder how this income is actually spent.

  2. I think that the standard of the insurance that is being provided through GHA is very poor. I recently had a claim on this policy and it was – for some strange reason handled through a loss adjuster. Having worked in insurance for a number of years I am aware that loss adjusters are normally only appointed to deal with claims over the limit of the regular claims handlers – in buildings insurance this is normally around £10,000 – the value of my claim was a little over £1,000. The standard of service that this team provided was atrocious. First they told me that they didn’t need to see the damage and that I would have to appoint my own tradesmen to provide them with reports. When I sent these reports in to them they decided that they wanted to send someone out to have a look at the damage. All this time my front door was secured only by the means of a temporary emergency repair. Their attitude towards dealing with this claim left my property with compromised security for a substantial amount of time. I believe if I was in a house that was owned by and rented from GHA this repairs would have been completed within 24 hours. Needless to say I would like to change my Buildings Insurance policy now as I am very unhappy with the company that administer it – but I am left in a position where I am told I am unable to do this.

    GHA are regulated by the FSA and that is why they are able to take a decision on the insurance that they provide through their factoring service (or at least that is how it appears to me) – in addition it is stated in the Deed of Conditions. Perhaps the best way to get round the issue of insurance is to make a complaint to the financial services authority. If GHA are acting as introducers to insurance policies then the are legally obliged to make sure that they are recommending the best possible policy – in terms of both cost and service – to their customers.

  3. I have raised complaints with the GHA/GHA(m) regarding my insurance policy. the insurance policy that the GHA have is a block policy which covers every property they factor. Your proportion of the premium is then calculated on the value of your home as a proportion of the total value of GHA’s factored property. In my case this means I am in effect subsidising the insurance premiums of those GHA residents who live in less well constructed properties in different parts of the city. If there was an individual policy for each property or block of flats as is stipulated in the title deeds, then my premium would be considerably less. Communities Scotland have a role in regulating all registered social landlords in Scotland (GHA) and all local authority factors or their inheritors (GHAm). I would urge as many people as possible to try and contact Communities Scotland in any way they can with their complaints regarding the GHA/GHA(m) especially as Communities Scotland are shortly to start an audit of the GHA.

    I have also learnt that the factoring functions of the GHA are in effect contracted out to the GHA(m). One reason for this is that the GHA is a not for profit business whereas the GHA can make a profit as it does not have charitable status. The profits made from the factoring are then redistributed to the GHA.

Leave a Reply

